Learning Sciences Staff

Directors

Phillip D Long

Associate Vice Provost for Learning Sciences, Deputy Director of Learning Sciences
phil.long@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6702 SZB 450V
Bio

Phillip D Long

Associate Vice Provost for Learning Sciences, Deputy Director of Learning Sciences

Ph.D. Biology, Penn State University, AB Psychobiology, University of California, Santa Cruz

phil.long@austin.utexas.edu

Phil is the Associate Vice Provost for Learning Sciences and Deputy Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning, Clinical Professor in Educational Psychology and in the School of Information, at the University of Texas, Austin. Dr. Long provides leadership to the university’s strategy for technology enhanced learning. Phil contributes leadership to UTx, the local implementation of the edX MOOCs, the UT learning analytics initiative & design of learning environments

Phil’s current research interests focus on active & blended learning pedagogies, remote laboratories, emerging technologies and the analytics that can be captured by instrumenting interactions in both virtual and environments with the goal of informing learner decision-making.

Prof. Long’s professional collaborations are eclectic and international, including leadership roles in the acronym soup of SoLAR, edX, the NMC, and AAEEBL.

He is a lapsed biologist now learning scientist focused on emerging technologies, the cognitive interactions with them, & the spaces, physical. and virtual wherein they occur.

(512) 475-6702SZB 450V

Staff

ALL
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | Q | R | S | T | W

Wafa Amayreh

Graduate Research Assistant, Graduate Student Development Program
wafa.amayreh@austin.utexas.edu
SZB 450F

Siew Ang

Data Scientist
siew.ang@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2635 SZB 450R
Bio

Siew Ang

Data Scientist

siew.ang@austin.utexas.edu

After working nearly ten years exploring factors that influence health issues such as diabetes, cardio vascular diseases, obesity; psychological issues around posttraumatic stress disorders using national datasets, and genome mapping early symptoms of lupus erythematosus among African American populations, Siew Ang current works at Learning Sciences Division at UT Austin, collaborating with administrators, faculty members and subcontractors to uncover student learning patterns. Among her portfolios are: exploring factors that prevent students from timely graduation; instructor effectiveness; course taking patterns and course flow in a program; the subsequent course student success for the prerequisites of Advance Placement tests and the validity of Student Evaluation of Teaching (SET). Siew Ang received her PhD in Quantitative Psychology in 2008 and recently morphed towards Learning Analytics and Big Data Analysis. She received additional training from SAS Learning Analytics workshop, attended the Learning Analytics Summer Institute at the Harvard Graduate School of Education in June 2014, and from Civitas Learning.

(512) 232-2635SZB 450R

Kristin Anthony

Instructional Designer, Faculty Innovation Center
kristin.anthony@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-9271 SZB 450B

Jessica Bega

Project Manager
jessica.bega@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6143 FAC 213D

Anne Braseby

Faculty Development Specialist, Faculty Innovation Center
anne.braseby@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1774 SZB 450R
Bio

Anne Braseby

Faculty Development Specialist, Faculty Innovation Center

Ph.D

anne.braseby@austin.utexas.edu

After teaching for 25 years, Anne joined the staff of CTL as a Faculty Development Specialist, working specifically with faculty to develop collaborative learning both inside and outside the classroom. She facilitates Faculty Learning Communities across the university campus that provide a rich and rewarding forum for faculty to learn with and from their peers. She develops and presents faculty workshops on many topics from designing student led outcomes to student engagement in the classroom. She obtained her Master’s degree from Boulder Colorado and her Ph.D. from Florida International University in Miami Florida.

(512) 232-1774SZB 450R

Hank Cannon

Scanning Office Coordinator
hank.cannon@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 471-6508 GSB 2.130C

Thereisa Coleman

Associate Director of Assessment
thereisa.coleman@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6626 GSB 2.130E

Stephanie Corliss

Educational Measurement & Assessment Specialist
stephanie.corliss@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1506 SZB 450
Bio

Stephanie Corliss

Educational Measurement & Assessment Specialist

Ph.D

stephanie.corliss@austin.utexas.edu

Stephanie B. Corliss is an Educational Measurement and Assessment Specialist at the CTL. She consults with faculty, staff, and administration and performs research related to teaching and learning to provide feedback to departments, colleges, and the university. Stephanie has been researching the use of instructional practices to enhance the teaching and learning experience for over twelve years.  She previously worked at the University of California, Berkeley, where she led professional development, research, and assessment efforts with teachers integrating technology-enhanced instruction into their curriculum.  Additionally, Dr. Corliss has taught educational psychology and instructional technology courses at the undergraduate and graduate level.  She has a Ph.D. in educational psychology focused on learning, cognition, and instruction and an MA in program evaluation from the University of Texas at Austin.

(512) 232-1506SZB 450

Michael DeLeon

Media Coordinator, iTunes U Site Administrator
mdeleon@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6156 SZB 450K

Lea Engle

Training Coordinator, Faculty Innovation Center
Lea.engle@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-9397 SZB 450U

Denise Fitch

Administrative Assistant
dfitch@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2649 FAC 213T

Chad Fulton

Project Manager, Faculty Innovation Center
chad@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2636 SZB 450K

Mario Guerra

Project Manager, Faculty Innovation Center
mariog@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6347 SZB 450G

Leslie Hall

Associate Director, Faculty Innovation Center
leslie.hall@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2645 FAC 213Z

Ladd Hanson

Sr. Learning Technology Architect
ladd@utexas.edu
(512) 475-8168 SZB 450E

Molly Hatcher

Program Coordinator, Graduate Student Development, Faculty Innovation Center
molly.hatcher@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-5181 SZB 450G

Cooper Henson

Technical Project Manager
cooper.henson@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2638 SZB 450J

Robbie Hilker

Scanning Office Assistant
robbie.hilker@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 471-6508 GSB 2.130C

Johannah Hochhalter

Center Manager, Executive Assistant to Associate Vice Provost Phillip D. Long
Johannah.hochhalter@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6386 Sanchez 450B

Sue Jones

Information Technology Manager
sue.jones@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-3724 GSB 2.130F

Coco Kishi

Project Manager, Faculty Innovation Center
kishi@austin.utexas.edu

Karron Lewis

Associate Director for Instructional Consultation, Faculty Innovation Center
kglewis@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1776 SZB 450S
Bio

Karron Lewis

Associate Director for Instructional Consultation, Faculty Innovation Center

Ph.D

kglewis@austin.utexas.edu

Karron is Associate Director for Instructional Consultation where she mentors other CTL Instructional Consultants and consults one-to-one with faculty from all across the UT Campus.   She works with departments who are developing peer review strategies and conducts training for peer reviewers.  Karron has been involved in faculty and TA development at the University of Texas at Austin since 1978.  She has published and presented widely on faculty development strategies, individual consultation and interpreting student evaluation feedback.   Karron earned a B.M.Ed. (Bachelor of Music Education) from Texas Lutheran University and a Ph.D. in Educational Curriculum and Instruction from Texas A&M University.

(512) 232-1776SZB 450S

Jody Miller

Program Coordinator, Course Instructor Survey
jody.miller@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2637 GSB 2.130H

Ryan Myers

Learning Technology Specialist, Canvas Team, Faculty Innovation Center
ryan.myers@austin.utexas.edu
SZB 450J

Maria Neis

Student Testing Advisor
maria.neis@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2659 GSB 2.130

Mellanie Patterson

Assistant Manager of Student Test Advising
mellanie.patterson@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2653 GSB 2.130A

Gloria Quesada

Associate Director for Vendor Relations
gloria.quesada@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2639 FAC 213GG

Dan Robinson

Director of Research, Evaluation and Learning Analytics
dan.robinson@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 471-3472 SZB 450E

Matt Russell

Blended & Digital Pedagogy Design Specialist, Faculty Innovation Center
matthew.russell@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-6053 SZB 450U

Brian Schwarz

Media Support Technician
brian.schwarz@austin.utexas.edu
SZB 450F

Sejal Shah

Project Manager
sejal@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-3342 SZB 450P

Nazy Sheikhzadeh

Senior Testing Specialist
n.sheikhzadeh@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-7593 GSB 2.130

Sara Somabhatta

Technical Project Manager
saraswathy@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 471-1673 SZB 450U

Julie Stewart

Instructional Specialist, Faculty Innovation Center
julie.stewart@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2640 SZB 450T
Bio

Julie Stewart

Instructional Specialist, Faculty Innovation Center

Ph.D

julie.stewart@austin.utexas.edu

As an instructional specialist, Julie works with departments and faculty.  Her professional interest is the development and implementation of learning-centered classroom environments. She has worked in teaching and learning from numerous perspectives: as researcher and assessment specialist here at UT, as program director for curricular and instructional development initiatives at the University of Chicago, as faculty member in curriculum and instruction at Loyola University, as editor of the Harvard Education Review, and as a high school English teacher in Texas. She has an Ed.D. in Teaching and Learning from Harvard University and an MA in English.

(512) 232-2640SZB 450T

Cindy Story

HR and Administrative Manager
cstory@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-7879 FAC 213AA

Noah Stroehle

Educational Technology Training Specialist, Faculty Innovation Center
noah@utexas.edu
(512) 232-1770 SZB 450J

Ken Tothero

Director of Special Projects
ktothero@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2641 SZB 450D
Bio

Ken Tothero

Director of Special Projects

MA

ktothero@austin.utexas.edu

As Associate Director of Educational Technology, Ken is responsible for a portfolio of initiatives that utilize technology to facilitate teaching, learning, collaboration, and assessment. Significant focus areas include the University's Learning Management System (LMS), a growing interest in hybrid and fully online instruction, and efforts related to the creation and delivery of courses via edX. Ken comes to the CTL from the UT College of Education, Learning Technology Center. Prior to that he spent eleven years as a high school physics teacher and another eight developing educational software for a variety of public and private entities. Ken holds Master's degrees in both Instructional Technology and Quantitative Methods from The University of Texas at Austin.

(512) 232-2641SZB 450D

Josh Walker

Associate Director, Faculty Innovation Center
josh.walker@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2651 SZB 458
Bio

Josh Walker

Associate Director, Faculty Innovation Center

Ph.D

josh.walker@austin.utexas.edu

As an Instructional Specialist, Josh Walker works with faculty to apply the best of what we know about how people learn toward developing and implementing instructional approaches that work.   Josh specializes in designing active and interactive learning environments that help students develop as critical and creative thinkers.  Josh earned a B.A. in both Psychology and Religion from East Texas Baptist University, an M.A. in Educational Psychology focusing on Program Evaluation, as well a Ph.D. in Educational Psychology, focusing on Learning, Cognition, Instruction, and Motivation from The University of Texas at Austin.

(512) 232-2651SZB 458

Mike Wallace

Product Manager for Website, Instructional Consultant, Faculty Innovation Center
mike.wallace@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-4796 SZB 450P
Bio

Mike Wallace

Product Manager for Website, Instructional Consultant, Faculty Innovation Center

Ph.D

mike.wallace@austin.utexas.edu

As an Instructional Specialist, Mike serves as a catalyst who brings ideas and people together to explore innovation in teaching and learning.  Mike’s primary professional interest is in flipped and transformed pedagogies where active learning, assessment, technology, and self-regulated learning create learning opportunities for students to deepen their understanding. As a faculty member in science education at Morehead State University, he redesigned his courses.  Mike earned a B.S. in Electrical Engineering, M.S. in Physics, and a Ph.D. in Science Education from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

(512) 232-4796SZB 450P